UnitedForums - UK Web Hosting Forum UnitedHosting Community Hosting Forums
Network and Server StatusCustomer SupportUK Web Hosting
UnitedHostingUnitedHosting Sitemap UK Hosting ForumUK Web HostingWeb Hosting ForumsUK Reseller HostingWeb Host CommunityUK Managed Dedicated ServersHosting Help and SupportUK Domain Name Registration

Go Back   UnitedForums.co.uk > UnitedHosting Community > Webmaster Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 4th April 2008, 04:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
GrantG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Missoula, MT USA
Posts: 13
email to my hosted site from local testing setup

I'm using xampp to test my site locally before uploading changes. My PHP scripts use the local MercuryMail install (included with xampp) to send emails to my email account on my UH hosted site.

None of the emails are being received, but the MercuryMail logs show that it has been received by the pop server. I assume they are being blocked as spam because they come from a known dsl address.

Is there a way to whitelist my ip address so that my test emails will come through?
GrantG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2008, 08:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Simon
Dedicated to life!
 
Simon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 36°38'4.48"N - 4°42'18.52"W
Posts: 2,058
Send a message via MSN to Simon Send a message via Yahoo to Simon Send a message via Skype™ to Simon
More likely is that the Mercury mail is not authenticating with the uh server when it connects. So it is actually being rejected. I used Mercury mail for a short time a long time ago and it does normally report these kinds of errors in one of the many windows it has.
__________________
Freelance PHP Programming
__________________
Simon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2008, 03:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
GrantG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Missoula, MT USA
Posts: 13
Authenticating?

I'm looking at the server log for the MercuryMail smtp server and it shows that the email has been sent successfully and received by the recipient (which is on the UH hosted site).

I can only assume that the spam blocker is catching the email since the email server is on a dynamic IP address range.
GrantG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2008, 03:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Simon
Dedicated to life!
 
Simon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: 36°38'4.48"N - 4°42'18.52"W
Posts: 2,058
Send a message via MSN to Simon Send a message via Yahoo to Simon Send a message via Skype™ to Simon
Mail sent through mail.yourdomain.com doesn't get filtered by mail foundry or any other spam filter so i don't think that is the problem
__________________
Freelance PHP Programming
__________________
Simon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2008, 11:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
GrantG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Missoula, MT USA
Posts: 13
That's the problem. I'm not sending it from my domain. When testing the site on my local computer (using xampp which includes an smtp server: MercuryMail), I don't receive the emails even though the smtp server shows that it has connected and delivered it.
GrantG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 12:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
MrBen
Munky!
 
MrBen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: nr Woking, England
Posts: 2,589
No you can't whitelist your IP. Can you not configure MercuryMail to relay to another SMTP server with authentication (i.e. the UH server, which will allow you to bypass the filtering)?

Ben
__________________
Veterinary Practice Management System by SoftFooding
Internet Data Usage Calculator: Estimate your monthly bandwidth usage for your Internet connection.
MrBen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2008, 04:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
GrantG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Missoula, MT USA
Posts: 13
MercuryMail is the SMTP server.

I suppose I could configure PHP to use the UH hosted SMTP server to send email, but it seems silly that I can't even send myself an email without getting blocked by the spam filter. It makes me wonder how much good mail is getting blocked also.
GrantG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:47 PM.

UK Web Hosting  |  UK Reseller Hosting  |  UK Dedicated Servers UnitedHosting  |  UnitedSupport  |  UnitedForums  |  SEO by vBSEO 3.0.0
Copyright © 1998-2008 United Communications Limited. All Rights Reserved. Registered in England and Wales 3651923 - VAT Reg No. 737662309