|
17th April 2005, 11:33 PM
|
#1 (permalink)
| | A La G00gl3r
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 90
| SPAM from Poker Rooms Hey all,
After submitting a support ticket I was pointed this way. I've been gtting lots of traffic on one of my domains coming from spam poker room sites. There is always 2/3 referrals and then it's gone. they always appear (when you can find one working) to be 'top sites lists' that never actually list my domain in question. Another thing I noticed is that they are always from sub-domains (always=99.9% of the time)
Has anybody experienced this and do you guys know of a way of stopping them?
Thanks in advance, hope it gets resolved somehow. |
| |
17th April 2005, 11:41 PM
|
#2 (permalink)
| | Go USA!
Join Date: Dec 2003 Location: Kent, England
Posts: 1,867
| I've had a few sites like this - got any domains? I'd be interested in knowing if they're the same... though mine aren't poker rooms but the basis sounds similar.
I used .htaccess to block them from some advice I got previously... but not sure whether it really is working yet or not. I too would be interested in ways to block. |
| |
18th April 2005, 12:31 AM
|
#3 (permalink)
| | Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2003 Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,807
| You can also block by IP address in spam assassin settings.
Vger
__________________
Working with computers is a bit like getting old - the longer you're around the more wrinkles you find! |
| |
18th April 2005, 12:33 AM
|
#4 (permalink)
| | Go USA!
Join Date: Dec 2003 Location: Kent, England
Posts: 1,867
|  For sites visiting you? |
| |
18th April 2005, 12:35 AM
|
#5 (permalink)
| | Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2003 Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,807
| No, for spam mail from ip addresses and not just domains.
Vger
__________________
Working with computers is a bit like getting old - the longer you're around the more wrinkles you find! |
| |
18th April 2005, 12:41 AM
|
#6 (permalink)
| | Go USA!
Join Date: Dec 2003 Location: Kent, England
Posts: 1,867
| Hmm, this romulan ale... as I understood it - I thought he was saying that he was having lots of people visit his site from spam poker sites. Not email? |
| |
18th April 2005, 11:15 AM
|
#7 (permalink)
| | Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2003 Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,807
| Agh, okay, misunderstood - thought we were talking about receiving spam from Poker Sites. But the IP blocker via .htaccess would prevent them from visiting and grabbing e-mail addresses, or use Javascript for e-mail addresses. Perhaps the latter would be best, as .htaccess will only block them revisiting.
Vger
__________________
Working with computers is a bit like getting old - the longer you're around the more wrinkles you find! |
| |
18th April 2005, 11:17 AM
|
#8 (permalink)
| | Go USA!
Join Date: Dec 2003 Location: Kent, England
Posts: 1,867
| :P Yeah. I use javascript to hide email addresses (I presume that's what you meant?) - do you know the code in htaccess to block by IP? |
| |
18th April 2005, 11:32 AM
|
#9 (permalink)
| | Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2003 Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,807
| This should work:
order allow,deny
deny from 123.45.6.7
deny from 12.34.5.
allow from all
Vger
__________________
Working with computers is a bit like getting old - the longer you're around the more wrinkles you find! |
| |
18th April 2005, 06:20 PM
|
#10 (permalink)
| | Member
Join Date: Jan 2004 Location: Nottingham
Posts: 33
| Hi,
I have loads of emails and also attacking my website forms. Heres some typical emails: and: Quote:
From: online poker
Date: 04/18/05 12:49:48
To: web@familyhistory.uk.com
Subject: Family History UK Enquiry
This is an enquiry e-mail from online poker (webmaster@1-texasholdem.us)
online poker,texas holdem,party poker,wsop,poker,poker chips,holdem
poker,poker,poker game,poker chips,strip poker,online poker,texas
holdem,texas hold em,video poker,poker table,party poker,world series of
poker,play poker,free poker,poker rules,free online poker,poker
network,clay poker chips,poker rooms,poker card game,poker hands,texas
holdem poker,world poker tour,free poker game,pacific poker,free texas http://1-texasholdem.us http://21texasholdem.us http://alltexasholdem.us http://texasholdem1.us http://0-poker.us http://000-poker.us http://007-poker.us http://1-888-pokermon.com http://1-casino-poker.us http://1-onlinepoker.us http://1-poker-game.com http://100millionpoker.us http://100playpoker.us http://100poker.us http://123-poker.us http://1232poker.us http://13poker.us http://1centpoker.us http://1clickpoker.us http://1dollarpoker.us http://1freepoker.us http://1onlinepoker.us http://1st-in-poker.us http://1st-place-poker.com http://1st-poker.us http://2-poker.us http://a-poker-casino.com http://poker-0.com http://poker-party-a.com http://poker-pro.us http://texasholdem2.com
hold em,poker star,free strip poker,poker chip set,free texas
holdem,poker tournament,online poker game,texas hold em poker,holdem
poker,empire poker,poker supplies,texas hold em rules,internet
poker,poker set,texas holdem rules,paradise poker,online poker
rooms,poker table tops,poker chip trick,online texas hold em,free video
poker,poker strategy,custom poker chips,online texas holdem,poker tips,wsop
| I have also visited the site that all this redirects http://www.empirepoker.com and have emailed corp@iglobalmedia.com their legal people. Still awaiting response! |
| |
18th April 2005, 07:12 PM
|
#11 (permalink)
| | A La G00gl3r
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 90
| Well i'm getting visits from poker domains and it's from about 60 domains/subdomains each feeding me 2/3 hits. If i'm quick enough I can see the site and it's a top list or something. (thinking could be a competitior starting it off) but sometimes I visit the main domain and it say account banned bu then when you view source it's got loads of poker keywords and things still in the code so i'm sue it's a dodgy page to make you stop worrying.
I don't want to blick from IP yet as i don't know enough about it and i've done about 8 months work of SEO on the site and it's now paying off but these poker hits i'm sure are not helping me in Google who is currently filtering me out for my main 3/4 keywords.
If there is no way of stopping this i'm off to seek legal advice in a couple of weeks.
I've got a few posts on a few forums so i'll get back toy ou asap. |
| |
18th April 2005, 07:20 PM
|
#12 (permalink)
| | A La G00gl3r
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 90
| |
| |
18th April 2005, 07:36 PM
|
#13 (permalink)
| | Member
Join Date: Jan 2004 Location: Nottingham
Posts: 33
| a broken neck if I go my hands on 'em
I have also found that their IP's are different - as I have tracked their IP to the specific host which (they say) they know nothing about! So blocking their Ip wont do much good!
Help!
Dave |
| |
18th April 2005, 08:35 PM
|
#14 (permalink)
| | Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2003 Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,807
| What they are doing is trawling your site for e-mail addresses that they can use to spam about their sites. Expect it to start - SOON!
I haven't checked Urchin Stats yet, but have already received my first piece of 'Poker' spam.
Vger
__________________
Working with computers is a bit like getting old - the longer you're around the more wrinkles you find! |
| |
18th April 2005, 11:06 PM
|
#15 (permalink)
| | Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2004 Location: UK
Posts: 126
| They're not crawling for email addresses they are filling you referer logs in order to make you want to go and view their sites. Half of my traffic is referrer spam on some sites. There's really very little you can do about it. |
| |
18th April 2005, 11:36 PM
|
#16 (permalink)
| | Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2003 Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,807
| Well, if that is what it is all about - then it is the most pointless sort of spamming I have ever heard of. Not that there's much point to any of it.
Vger
__________________
Working with computers is a bit like getting old - the longer you're around the more wrinkles you find! |
| |
19th April 2005, 12:53 AM
|
#17 (permalink)
| | Go USA!
Join Date: Dec 2003 Location: Kent, England
Posts: 1,867
| Indeed. :P They must be crawling for email addresses - either that or they're looking for forms they can fill in that'll let them post links back to their site. |
| |
19th April 2005, 12:52 PM
|
#18 (permalink)
| | Member
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 49
| Hi,
Could be wrong but I thought this was just referrer spam in the hope your stats are available online and possibly crawled by the se's in order to gain the link popularity? In most stat packages it is the referrer field that gets turned into links whereas the browser field etc don't.
Marc. |
| |
19th April 2005, 06:39 PM
|
#19 (permalink)
| | Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2003 Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 421
| Quote: |
Originally Posted by Vger Well, if that is what it is all about - then it is the most pointless sort of spamming I have ever heard of. | Not that pointless. We've noticed them and are talking about them. Some have likely even visited their sites. Mission accomplished. But the bastards are giving online poker sites a bad name!
- peterd |
| |
19th April 2005, 06:41 PM
|
#20 (permalink)
| | Go USA!
Join Date: Dec 2003 Location: Kent, England
Posts: 1,867
| I'd say it's not mission accomplished - we're all talking about blocking them - not visiting them. |
| | |
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | | | | Thread Tools | | | | Display Modes | Rate This Thread | Linear Mode | |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | | | |